Shiva Temples of Tamilnadu

Thevara Paadal Petra Shivasthalam

Temple Index of Paadal Petra Shivashtalams in Tamilnadu

Out of the 276 temples which were glorified in the Tevaram Hymns sung by the Nayanmars, 266 temples or Shivastalams are located in Tamilnadu (including Pondicherry). Out of these 266 temples, a majority of them (191) are located in the erstwhile Chola Naadu and are situated on the north side (63) and south side (128) of river Cauvery. 14 temples are located in what is classified as Pandiya Naadu and 7 are located in Kongu Naadu. Tondai Naadu and Nadu Naadu boasts of 31 and 23 temples repectively.

Temple location summaryNo
Chola Naadu
(North of river Kaveri)
Chola Naadu
(South of river Kaveri)
Pandiya Naadu14
Nadu Naadu23
Thondai Naadu31
Kongu Naadu7

These 266 temples are grouped according to the geographical boundaries that prevailed in those days, when these temples were glorified in the hymns composed by the Nayanmars, especially by Appar (Thirunavukarasar), Sundarar and Thirugnanasambandar. Majority of these temples are situated in Cuddalore, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Tiruvarur and Tiruchy districts of Tamilnadu.

The remaining 10 temples, which are located outside the state of Tamilnadu, are as follows:

1. Kerala State (Malai Naadu) - 1
2. Andhra Pradesh - (Thondai Naadu) - 1
3. Karnataka State (Thuluva Naadu) - 1
4. Sri Lanka (Eezha Naadu) - 2 and
5. North India (Vada Naadu) - 5
site logo
Ohm Namasivaya

To improve site content and user functionality, this website has been redesigned and converted into a responsive website ensuring that users have a good experience regardless of what device and screen size they use to browse the web. Kindly browse the website and write your comments / feedback.